19
Oct

New Leaf’s 13 days of Halloween! 

As we all patiently await the holiday that makes it appropriate to eat candy in excess, New Leaf would like to present our very own 13 Days of Halloween: 13 days of two sentence horror stories from the creative minds of our wonderful authors!

image

Day 1: this story is brought to you by Laura Salters

Last night I enjoyed a wonderfully dreamless slumber in my cosy single bed, but this morning I woke to find over a hundred images of me sleeping on my phone’s camera roll, all taken from the foot of my bed. 

I live alone.”
Stay tuned for more stories leading up to Halloween. Happy nightmares to all! 
17
Oct
lbardugo:

Okay, guys, here it is! The Dregs shall hereafter be known as (insert trumpets, crashing cymbal noises, someone screams in the distance)
SIX OF CROWS
So why the title change? There were concerns that the word “dregs” was unfamiliar to a lot of readers, but it also came down to the fact that while some of the members of Kaz’s crew are also members of the gang known as the Dregs (one of the worst in the Barrel natch), some aren’t, and this book is about Kaz and his crew more than it’s about the gang.
Why Six of Crows? Well, crows are allll over this book and they’re important to Kaz in particular. More to be revealed in 2015 and you can come on out and ask me all about it on my tour!
10/31 - Grisha Halloween at Books & Books, Coral Gables, FL 7pm
11/1 - Octavia Books, New Orleans, LA 5pm
11/3 - Cambridge Public Library, Cambridge, MA 6pm
11/4 - Gibson’s, Concord, NH 6pm
11/5 - Jones Library (w/ Odyssey Books), Amherst, MA 6pm
11/6 - Books of Wonder, New York, NY 6pm
11/8 - YALLFest, Charleston, SC (details TBA)
11/9 - Parnassus Books, Nashville, TN 2pm
We’re going to have an amazing Six of Crows related gift with purchase at all of these stops (while supplies last blee blah bloo) and I’ll be reading from the new book at most of them. (Not at Yallfest because honestly that would be weird. But you should still come to Yallfest because YALLFEST.)
I hope you’ve enjoyed hearing a little bit more about Kaz, Inej, Wylan, Jesper, Nina, and Matthias this week. I can’t wait to share more about them and this story in the new year. And I can’t wait to see some of you on the road in just a few weeks! Come stare directly into my eyes and tell me of your customs.
xo

LOVE THIS TITLE! Can’t wait to read—how about you?

lbardugo:

Okay, guys, here it is! The Dregs shall hereafter be known as (insert trumpets, crashing cymbal noises, someone screams in the distance)

SIX OF CROWS

So why the title change? There were concerns that the word “dregs” was unfamiliar to a lot of readers, but it also came down to the fact that while some of the members of Kaz’s crew are also members of the gang known as the Dregs (one of the worst in the Barrel natch), some aren’t, and this book is about Kaz and his crew more than it’s about the gang.

Why Six of Crows? Well, crows are allll over this book and they’re important to Kaz in particular. More to be revealed in 2015 and you can come on out and ask me all about it on my tour!

10/31 - Grisha Halloween at Books & Books, Coral Gables, FL 7pm

11/1 - Octavia Books, New Orleans, LA 5pm

11/3 - Cambridge Public Library, Cambridge, MA 6pm

11/4 - Gibson’s, Concord, NH 6pm

11/5 - Jones Library (w/ Odyssey Books), Amherst, MA 6pm

11/6 - Books of Wonder, New York, NY 6pm

11/8 - YALLFest, Charleston, SC (details TBA)

11/9 - Parnassus Books, Nashville, TN 2pm

We’re going to have an amazing Six of Crows related gift with purchase at all of these stops (while supplies last blee blah bloo) and I’ll be reading from the new book at most of them. (Not at Yallfest because honestly that would be weird. But you should still come to Yallfest because YALLFEST.)

I hope you’ve enjoyed hearing a little bit more about Kaz, Inej, Wylan, Jesper, Nina, and Matthias this week. I can’t wait to share more about them and this story in the new year. And I can’t wait to see some of you on the road in just a few weeks! Come stare directly into my eyes and tell me of your customs.

xo

LOVE THIS TITLE! Can’t wait to read—how about you?

17
Oct

The weekend is upon us—and the weather is going to cool considerably from this week. Fall is oh so fickle. But the reading must continue! So here we go:

Jackie is continuing to read SLAUGHTERHOUSE-FIVE.

Jaida is working on GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn.

Suzie is reading JENNA STARBORN by Sharon Shinn.

Danielle is reading SERAPHINA by Rachel Hartman.

Jo is reading THE GIGANTIC BEARD THAT WAS EVIL by Stephen Collins.

Mackenzie, Pouya, and Kathleen are reading manuscripts.

Have a great weekend!

16
Oct
16
Oct
16
Oct

Three Question Thursday: Erica O’Rourke 

Today on #3QT, we’re featuring YA author Erica O’Rourke. Here to introduce her is Danielle:

Erica has been Joanna Volpe’s client since before I was hired almost three years ago, and I’ve been enamored with her writing since the moment I was introduced to her work. Erica knows how to wrap you up into her characters’ lives so that you’re more involved in their thoughts and feelings while you’re reading than you are in your own, here in the real world. Her first trilogy (featuring TORN, TANGLED, and BOUND) are romantic and tense and filled with paranormal fabulousness. Her latest series (DISSONANCE, and the upcoming RESONANCE [out Summer 2015] and HARMONIC [out in March 2015]) are swoony and smart and really make you think about the choices that you make. So on that note, take it away, Erica!

Tell Us a Fact About What You’re Working on Now:

Oooh…I tend to keep my current projects a secret for as long as possible. How about a list of clues?

A girl named Astrid

Brackish water

Ghosts

Knots

Old houses

Brothers

Skulls

Vines

What’s Something People Might Be Surprised to Learn About You?

I collect vintage Cherry Ames mysteries. Cherry Ames was a Nancy Drew-style detective series set during and after World War II. The books followed Cherry – named because her cheeks were so naturally rosy they looked like cherries, of course – through nursing school, wartime, and a variety of highly improbably nursing adventures. Some of the titles include, Cherry Ames, Dude Ranch Nurse and Cherry Ames, Department Store Nurse, for example.

I think it was my grandmother who started me off on the collection when I was a kid. Cherry was smart and independent and fearless – pilots, soldiers, spies, doctors and business magnates all fell in love with her, but she was too devoted to her work and her friends and mystery-solving to settle down with any one guy. (And therefore infinitely superior to Nancy Drew, in my opinion.)

You can find different versions of the books, but I only collect the ones with the terracotta covers and that thick, old-fashioned paper. They’re pretty cheesy, and very dated, but I have such a soft spot for them – it’s probably where my love of cozy mysteries comes from.

Displaying photo p3).jpg

What’s One Of Your Favorite Books (and Why)?

This is a cruel question! I have too many favorites to narrow it down, but I never get tired of reading Howl’s Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne-Jones. It’s the kind of story you can slip into effortlessly – a world that’s simultaneously familiar and intriguing, a voice that’s both charming and dryly funny, fantastic characterization. But what I like best is how carefully it’s constructed. Even the tiniest details have a huge impact on the story, and every time I reread it, I discover something new. I keep an electronic version on my phone, so Howl and Sophie are always close by.

Also, I’m pretty sure that there’s something living in my chimney and I’ve named it Calcifer.

As a mom, how does your writing process change when your kids are home versus at school?

We have three girls, ranging in age from six to thirteen. Early on in my writing career, I realized that while I love my kids and I love writing, I don’t multitask very well. Trying to split my focus between the two at any given moment means both areas of my life suffer – the quality of my writing nosedives, and I’m snappish and unpleasant with my family.

What works best for us is compartmentalization: When my kids are at school, I turn off the internet, ignore the household chores piling up, and make writing my priority. When my family is home, they’re the priority: homework and dinner and Science Olympiad and piano and keeping the girls from strangling each other. I put my computer away and ignore the household chores piling up. Once the kids are in bed, I spend a little time with my husband and then finish up my work for the day.

(Ignoring household tasks is my superpower.)

It helps that my husband is super-involved at home and very supportive of my writing, but even so, it took us a while to arrive at this system. And it’s not perfect – it’s a fact of life that things will fall through the cracks sometimes. To compensate, we’re constantly talking and adjusting and reprioritizing and compromising. But it’s the best way we’ve found to balance work and family.

Just don’t ask about the state of my house.

15
Oct
yahighway:

Cover Reveal! Check out Kristin Halbrook’s EVERY LAST PROMISE:

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate’s sexual assault. Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn’t supposed to. But she hasn’t told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer. Now Kayla’s coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.

Every Last Promise on IndieBound
Every Last Promise on Goodreads
Every Last Promise on Amazon
www.kristinhalbrook.com

yahighway:

Cover Reveal! Check out Kristin Halbrook’s EVERY LAST PROMISE:

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate’s sexual assault. 

Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn’t supposed to. But she hasn’t told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer. 

Now Kayla’s coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.

(Source: yahighway.com)